Home » About » Directors


Horizon Housing is governed by a dedicated Board of Directors, whom are are collectively nominated by the Shareholders.

Our current Directors are as follows:

Chairperson - Anthony (Nino) Di Marco

Nino is the current Chief Executive Officer of Royal Flying Doctor Service (Qld Section) and has over 25 years’ experience in management, business and finance. He has held senior executive leadership positions in a range of areas including the health, property, finance and business sectors, and extensive experience in working with State and Federal Governments.

Nino holds an Economics Degree from the University of New England and a Post Graduate Diploma in Finance & Investment. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management, an Associate of the Securities Institute of Australia, and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Nino is also a Board member of a Brisbane based Medicare Local. Nino is also a member of Horizon Housing Company’s Finance, Audit, Risk Management and Compliance Committee and Performance, Nominations and Governance Committees.

Director - Alison Kimber

Alison is a qualified actuary and senior executive with over 30 years’ experience in the finance, government and not-for-profit sectors where she has successfully led major reform.

After graduating with first class honours in applied mathematics, her early career was in the banking and life insurance industries, with a focus on corporate planning, risk management and international capital raising.

Subsequently Alison joined the South Australian Department of Treasury and Finance, the Office of Government Enterprises and Cabinet Office. Amongst the projects she led were a study to consider the possible sale of the WorkCover Corporation (now ReturnToWorkSA), the corporatisation of ForestrySA and the establishment of a drug rehabilitation facility on the APY Lands.

In 2009 Alison joined Housing SA to lead the coordination of their $434 million Nation Building and Economic Stimulus (Housing) Program. Alison later led reform of the not-for-profit community sector in South Australia for Housing SA and Renewal SA.

In 2016 Alison founded her consultancy firm, ak advisory, which provides expert advice on strategy and planning, commercial direction, governance, change leadership and risk management. 

Alison is a member of the Horizon Housing Finance, Audit, Risk Management & Compliance Committee and the Performance, Nominations & Governance Committee. Alison is also a member of the SA/NT Council for the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Chair, UnitingCare Wesley Bowden and a member of the Fleurieu Regional Aquatic Centre Authority and the Southern Adelaide Clinical Human Research Ethics Committee.

Director - Joe Duskovic

Joe is the current Corporate Secretary and Legal Services Manager for St Vincent de Paul Society Queensland. Joe has over 20 years’ experience in the legal profession, and has worked for national, mid-tier and small law firms in roles including senior associate positions. Prior to his role with St Vincent de Paul, Joe was in-house General Counsel and Company Secretary for Honeycombes Property Group. Joe’s legal expertise includes commercial real estate transactions, residential real estate development, construction litigation, joint venture projects and commercial litigation and dispute resolution.

Joe has a bachelor of Laws from Bond University, and is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Joe is also a member of Horizon Housing Company’s Performance, Nominations and Governance Committee.

Director - Sonya Beyers

Sonya Beyers is a well-reputed Governance Consultant and Advisor, providing client-focused, high quality governance advisory and education services. As Director of Governance by Design, Sonya collaborates with diverse organisations including but not limited to, government-owned corporations, statutory bodies, professional bodies, public companies limited by shares/guarantee, charities, private companies, and trusts.

Outside of client-specific engagements, Sonya brings her wealth of experience as a consultant, solicitor and practising director to apply a personal approach to facilitation in her role as an accredited course facilitator for the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).  

In addition to her directorships within the Horizon Housing corporate group and member of Horizons Finance, Audit, Risk Management & Compliance Committee, Sonya is a director of BUSS(Q) Building Super, The Forde Foundation and is also a Committee Member of the Queensland Law Society Not-For-Profit Committee.

Sonya holds a Bachelor of Laws, and is admitted to the Supreme Court of Queensland, and the High Court of Australia.  Sonya is also a Graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a member of the Queensland Law Society.

Non-Executive Director - Jeff Forbes

Jeff has over 35 years’ experience as a finance manager, including over 16 years as the CFO of both listed and unlisted companies and is an experienced company director.

In March 2013 Jeff retired from Cardno Limited, an ASX200 listed global infrastructure services company, where he was CFO, Company Secretary and an Executive Director.

Prior to joining Cardno Jeff worked in the mining and resources sector for over 30 years and has significant experience in the financing and development of resource projects in both Australia and the Asia Pacific region.

Jeff returned to Cardno in 2016 as a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee.  Additionally Jeff is a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee of PWR Holdings Limited and Chairman of the Board of Herron Todd White (Australia) Pty Ltd and Herron Todd White (Consolidated) Pty Ltd and a member of the Financial Audit Risk Committee. He is also Non-executive Director and Chair of Horizon Housing Company’s Finance, Audit, Risk Management and Compliance Committee.

Jeff holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Newcastle, is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a member of The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy.